16 November, 2014

Building My Music Library

I always have the hardest time when people ask me what my preferred genre of music is. I don't know why, but I can't seem to just pick one (or two or even three!). My brain goes through a defunct process of elimination. First, it picks out my least favorite, for example overplayed pop tunes (Payphone, Maroon 5) cheesy old love songs (Victims of Love, Joe Lamont),  and all cheap remixes of popular songs! Next, when by brain tries to gather the next batch of eliminated groups, it'd subconsciously tell me "Pssst! You know that song you hate? you actually love that! tonight you will watch its music video in Youtube and you will LOVE it!", and by that time, I'd just give up!

So I would build my music library to find out new and awesome music. Adding songs from artists I usually don't listen to and to listen to new and unfamiliar genres. I hope to further expand my musical tastes and discover the world through music. Self awareness time! Now where do we start... today we go pop.

5SOS is Bae

Honestly, when I first heard their song She Looks So Perfect , I was highly skeptical! But after giving it a chance it kind of grew inside of me and the next thing I know, I've been blurting out the lyrics randomly in public! I think everyone can relate to these Aussie blokes. They remind me of some bands I used to listen to, and a band that I wish were there when I was younger.I totally see why these little girls go crazy over them, and how they just shove One Direction into a dark corner.



My favorites: Amnesia, Good Girls, 18, Kiss Me Kiss Me


I give them:
 

                      

Lil' Miss Songstress 

Standing at 5'0" fully grown, she is undoubtedly one of today's most talented singers. I really didn't care about her last album and even on her appearances on Nickelodeon, but this year, she really made it to the top. Her songs are well composed to fit her dynamic voice that everyone is dying to collab with. Onstage she really performs and overshadows the other artists. She gives this really balanced good girl but kind of sexy vibe. I can't wait for her next material.




I liked: Break Free, Break Your Heart Right Back


She gets:
 


Almost a 90's Kid


This album is really different and really poppy! It's not for me but I can say that this one's good. Maybe if I give it some time (and a lot of chances), I would actually like this. I kind of hate Welcome to New York. I find it too robotic and loopy. There are other more loopy and repetitive songs in the album but they seem to work unlike W2NY. I love how Ms. Swift shows a lot more attitude and personality here than her past albums. Sure these are less romantic and less deep, but she's showing another side. She's showing other emotions, and that's a really good thing. So, thumbs up to you Taylor Swift.


The songs that really stood out: Out of the Woods, How You Get the Girl, New Romatics


She gets to eat:



Sell Out Boy


I know I should not compare this song to their other songs but, it's like I don't recognize them anymore. Sure, it's a catchy song and it's the song you want stuck on your head. I just find this song overproduced and maybe the first Disney song that I hate. If not for the sensible lyrics, I don't see any reason why people would listen to this. I haven't been enjoying this band's recent work (alongside Centuries). I do hope their upcoming album would not sound like these two songs. 



Now I understand how the haters of Infinity on High and Folie à Deux feel by how this band changed for no reason. But I'm not hating. I'm confused about the hype for the bad songs.


I serve:

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

This listening to newer tunes had been fun. I would've included One Direction's Four but I haven't had the chance to listen to it entirely. I would like to make this a regular post or something. I'm not really sure yet. so yeah. It really looks bad that the last rating had only three burger emojis. These burgers make me hungry.

12 November, 2014

J'adore Le Français!

After one whole week of no internet, I'm finally connected. Though I still had my phone, I still missed using my PC. So here's my next post.





J'adore Le Français!
I love French!

  9 months ago, when I started learning this language, I never would have dreamed to say this out loud. I hated all things that related to fanciness or the idea of it, and I considered the French language as the epitome of all things fancy. No one would consider me a proud student. I even hid it from all my friends and family until someone told everybody! It was a brutal 9 months!



  I've started to look forward to each class and learn something new. Each day, I start to see something that breaks my negative connotations about French. I've always admired  their pastries, the Louvre, their architecture, and most of all, Madam Marie Antoinette (and her cakes!), but now my eyes have never been more open. I've always thought that they we're just wine drinking and cheese eating, but they are all just like all of us, friendly, adventurous, daring, funny, creative, and COOL! 

  Classmates slowly disappeared, and rooms got smaller, but I've met wonderful people who made the experience somewhat less arduous (wow big word! haha). Teachers became peers, and classmates into buddies. Classes shifted from ABC's to complex tenses in a snap! Games from simple higher or lower number games to the more competitive Pinoy Henyo, Taboo or even a full game of Scrabble! After all the hard work and bloody red papers, I have come to say J'adore Français!

  I will never forget my days in this school! Now, I'm thankful that I have stuck around and because of this I have a brighter  less dark future. haha. I want to thank all of my teachers Mlle Gaëlle, M Quentin, Mlle Graziellla, M Olivier, and Mlle Charlene. My classmates especially Ma'am Notch, Danica, Roxanne, François, Tristan, Elaine, and ati valerie. It was a journey and I hope to see you soon. Continuez apprendre!



05 November, 2014

In the "Webbernets"




  • Webbernet, Another more, unique word to call the common internet.
      •                                                                                       -Urban Dictionary, 2010


 
     Hi welcome to my blog!

     Way back 2005, I've always wanted to write a blog. I had all these ideas that just kept on building and building throughout the years. Now, I have gathered enough courage (and spare time) to make one, so here it goes.    

    Let me introduce myself, I am Kevin, I'm 23 and still don't know what to do with my life. Part of me wanted to explore the world starting in my hometown, Cebu, since I have spent most of my life indoors. Now I am slowly rediscovering my life and the world around me. I hope I get to share most of my life in this blog.

    I also intend to make this blog some sort of a "public journal," like a way to creatively document my life for me to have something to reminisce.  I will post anything from my normal days, to travels, to my inspirations, and just basically anything i can think of.

     

 Here goes... the first page to the rest of my life.